Expect The Best


National Leaders Conference

The 2019 National Leaders Post Conference Call for Workshop Proposals are open until December 7. Apply here.

Strengthen Your School Leadership

CAIS values the constant and deliberate quest for excellence, and we recognize the vital leadership role that governors play, in partnership with Heads, in the success of our schools. We want all of our schools to have strong Heads who focus on supporting the students of the present, but we also want strong Boards that focus on supporting the students of the future.

The Governance Guide include new learning on a number of areas, including Human Resources, Risk Management, Head Transitions, and Consent Agendas.

CAIS members and non-members can purchase a hard copy here. And CAIS members can also view the full PDF in CAIS Connect here.

Leadership Series

Art of Leadership Awards

To be considered for this award, leaders must have participated in the Leadership Institute and completed their first year of a new leadership position in a CAIS school.

You have mentored others

Your influence extends beyond your school

You are nominated by your peer

Your influence extends beyond your province

The Art of Leadership Award Winners

2018 - St. Michaels University School

Martha Perry

Head of School, St. Clement's School

Tam Matthews

Head of School, West Point Grey Academy

2017 - King's-Edgehill School

Gary O'Meara

Head of School, Armbrae Academy

David Robertson

Head of School, Shawnigan Lake School

2016 - St. Andrews College

Patricia Parisi

Principal (retired), St. Clement's School

Paul Kitchen

Head of School (retired), Rothesay Netherwood School

2015 - St. Margaret's School

Hal Hannaford
Head of Selwyn House School

Claire Summerlus
Head of Robbins Hebrew Academy

2014 - Ridley College

Deryn Lavell
Head of The Bishop Strachan School

William Mitchell
Head of Bishop's College School

2013 - Rothesay Netherwood School

Peter Sturrup
Head of Pickering College

Jim Officer
Retired Head of St. George’s School of Montreal

2012 - Trinity College School

Karen Murton
Head of Branksome Hall

Ian Robinson
Head of The Sterling Hall School

2011 - Shawnigan Lake School

Patricia Dawson
Head of Crofton House

Rodger Wright
Head of Collingwood School

2010 - Appleby College

David Hadden
Retired Head of Lakefield College School

Kim MaGee
Retired Head of The Bishop Strachan School

New Leaders Address

2016 - St. Andrew's College

Lori Binder

Head of School, Gray Academy of Jewish Education

David Young

Head of School, TMS School

2015 - St. Margaret's School

Jason Rogers
Head of Rundle College

Sharon Klein
Head of St. George's School of Montreal

2014 - Ridley College

Margaret Dorrance
Head of Calgary French International School

Michel Lafrance
Head of West Island College, Montreal

2013 - Rothesay Netherwood School

James Lee
Head of The Rosedale School

Norman Southward
Head of Ashbury College

2012 - Trinity College School

John Liggett
Head of The Country Day School

Derek Logan
Head of Kingsway College School

2011 - Shawnigan Lake School

Marc Ayotte
Head of Hillfield Strathallan College

Martha Perry
Head of St. Clement's School

2010 - Appleby College

Kevin McHenry
Head of St. Andrew's College